Episode 102: Same Song, Different Decade with Joe and Myla

Ed plays the original versions of beloved tunes and then surprises Joe and Myla with one or more remakes.

Ready for a nostalgia trip with a twist? On this month’s episode, Ed takes the reins and curates a fantastic selection of some of his favorite video game music for Joe and Myla to experience for the very first time!

It becomes a VGM battle of sorts, where Ed plays the original versions of beloved tunes and then surprises Joe and Myla with one or more remakes. From the chiptune classics to techno and rock reimaginings, our hosts will listen, discuss, and cast their votes on which version reigns supreme. The conversation takes some interesting turns, so beware: you may never look at Simon Belmont the same way again!

Will the original 8-bit magic capture their hearts, or will the modern, polished remakes win them over? Tune in to hear their candid reactions, spirited debates, and, of course, the final verdict!


A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!

Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!

Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Ryan Steel, Cameron Werme, Kung-Fu Carlito, Muddle MADness, Scott McElhone, Periodical, Chris Murray, Mike Stark, Keyglyph, Kyle Krull, Claire Meyers, The Diad, Professor Tom, Cameron Chiles, and Dan Laughton.

Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy

Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy

Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Amazon Podcasts, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app:

The Tracklist:

Castlevania – Heart of Fire/ Can’t Wait till Night

1 – “Heart of Fire” from Castlevania (NES, 1987) Composed by Kinuyo Yamashita and Satoe Terashima

2 – “Don’t Wait til Night” from Haunted Castle (Arcade, 1987) Composed by Kenichi Matsubara

3 – “Don’t Wait til Night” from Castlevania: Harmony of Despair (Xbox360, PS3, 2011) Arranged by Yasushi Asada


Cybattler – Interception (Mission 1)

4 – “Interception (Mission 1)” from Cybattler (Arcade, 1993) Composed by Pao, U Masaaki, and Y Tsugumi

5 – “Interception (Mission 1)” from Psyvariar Delta (Switch, PS4, PC, Arcade, 2018) Composed by Tetsuro Sato, Kenichi Arakawa, Kazushi Tsurukubo, Misako Tago, Kazumine Tsushima, Takashi Egawano, Yasuhisa Watanabe, Daisuke Matsumoto, Takeshi Miyamoto, Daisuke Nagata, Takashi Okamoto, and Ayatsugu Otowa


Dangun Feveron  – Barofever/ Sad Barofever

6 – “Barofever” from Dangun Feveron (Arcade, 1998) Composed by Ryuichi Yabuki, Nanpei Misawa, and Ryo Sakai

7 – “Sad Barofever (FM Arrange)” from Dangun Feveron (PS4, XB1, 2017) Arranged by Tatsuhiko Kasuga

8 – “Sad Barofever (VIP Arrange)” from Dangun Feveron (PS4, XB1, 2017) Arranged by Jaelyn Nisperos aka Chibi-Tech


Undercover Cops – Sarah Sowertty

9 – “Sarah Sowertty” from Undercover Cops (Arcade, 1992) Composed by HIYA-UNIT aka Takushi Hiyamuta

10 – “Sarah Sowertty (Arranged)” from the Undercover Cops Original Soundtrack CD (1992) Composed by Takushi Hiyamuta and Arranged by Mishiru Ohshima, with Guitar by Takayuki Hijikata

Please follow and like us:

Prime VGMinister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
Verified by MonsterInsights