Episode 25: N64 Collecting with Joe

Joe and Ed share the “cream of the crop” of some of the lesser-known N64 games, and dish out some N64 game collecting tips along the way.

The N64 hit retail shelves in 1996, and introduced Nintendo gamers to fully 3D environments, anti-aliasing, a fair amount of fog, and some incredible gameplay and music. Today, Ed sits down with Joe, his cohost of the Patreon sister-show Embassy Exclusive, and chats about his complete USA N64 collection. Joe’s taken an interest particularly of the music of N64 games, and his collection has enabled him to explore the soundtracks of some of the more obscure titles in the library. Listen in as Joe and Ed share what they feel are the “cream of the crop” of some of the lesser-known N64 games, and learn some N64 game collecting tips along the way!

A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!

Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!

Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Chris Murray, Cameron Chiles, Shoryukenny!, Michael Bridgewater, Chris Myers, Donovan Orofino, Ben “The Diad” Dishman, John “Mixxmaster” Jekel, Chris Steenerson, Jordan Werme, Cameron Werme, Kung Fu Carlito, Scott McElhone, and Alex “The Messenger” Messenger.

Join our Facebook group for discussion and bonus content: facebook.com/groups/thevgmbassy

Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy

Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy

Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app!

The Tracklist (All music is from the N64 unless otherwise noted):

1 – “Champs Elysees” from BattleTanx: Global Assault (1999) Composed by Barry Blum

2 – “Fossil Canyon” from Diddy Kong Racing (1997) Composed by David Wise and Graeme Norgate

3 – “Our Kidnapped Kids (Folkypoke Village – Deserted)” from Mystical Ninja Starring Goeman (1997) Composed by Shigeru Araki

4 – “4 Player Mode ~ Bomb Puyo Party!” from Puyo Puyo~n Party (1999) Composed by Junichi Yoshida, Koji Onari, and Kazuaki Nagai

5 – “Level 05 – The Sanctuary of Water And Ice – (P1) Beginning” from Rayman 2: The Great Escape (1999) Composed by Eric Chevalier

6 – “Main Menu” from Quake 2 (1999) Composed by Ken Richmond

7 – “Green Garden” from Bomberman 64 (1997) Composed by Akifumu Tada

8 – “Sky Hoop” from Rakuga Kids (1998) Composed by Tomoya Tomita, Masahiko Kimura and Kozo Nakamura

9 – “Hurry!” from Mischief Makers (1997) Composed by Norio Hanzawa

10 – “Meifa Lee’s Theme” from Getter Love!! – Cho Renai Party Game (1998) Composed by Shohei Bando

11 – “Bio-Hazard (Wetlands)” from Lode Runner 3-D (1999) Composed by Julian Soule

12 – “Low Rydin” from Rush 2 Extreme Racing USA (1998) composed by Barry Leitch

13 – “Select Your Machine” from Last Legion UX (1999) Composed by Yoshitaka Azuma

Please follow and like us:

Prime VGMinister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
Verified by MonsterInsights