Episode 27: Drum and Bass with Rob Nichols

Rob Nichols from Rhythm and Pixels joins Ed in sharing some of the best Drum and Bass video games has to offer

It can be a magical feeling when you hear your one of your favorite genres of music in a video game, especially when it’s authentic. Rob Nichols (from VGM podcast Rhythm & Pixels) and Ed have both shared a love for Drum and Bass music since the 1990’s, both in VGM and on the radio waves. Today, they share some of the best Drum and Bass video games has to offer, present a bit of the history behind the music, and chat about some of their favorite producers and composers over the years.

Hear more of Rob Nichols on his VGM podcast Rhythm & Pixels!

A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!

Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!

Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Chris Murray, Cameron Chiles, Shoryukenny!, Michael Bridgewater, Chris Myers, Donovan Orofino, Voltz Supreme, Ben “The Diad” Dishman, John “Mixxmaster” Jekel, Chris Steenerson, Jordan Werme, Cameron Werme, Kung Fu Carlito, Scott McElhone, and Alex “The Messenger” Messenger.

Join our Facebook group for discussion and bonus content: facebook.com/groups/thevgmbassy

Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy

Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy

Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app!

The Tracklist:

1 – “Killing Moon (Kousyu Street)” from Street Fighter III 3rd Strike (Arcade, DC, PS2, 1999) Composed by Hideki Okugawa

2 – “Insanely Fast” from Tetris Splash (Xbox 360, 2007) Composed by an Unknown Artist

3 – “Street Sweeper” from Sim City 4 (PC, 2003) Composed by Marc Russo

4 – “Some Bizarre” from Zanac x Zanac (PS1, 2001) Composed by Daisuke Nagata, Masatomo Miyamoto, and Katsumi Tanaka

5 – “Lucid Rhythms” from Ridge Racer Type 4 (PS1,  1998) Composed by Tetsukazu Nakanishi

6 – “Under the Ocean” from Super Monkey Ball 2 (GC, PS2, 2002) Composed by Hidenori Shoji

7 – “Beats From Above” from Klonoa: Door to Phantomile (PS1, 1997) Composed by Tetsukazu Nakanishi

8 – “Welcome to the Future” from Trials Fusion (PC, PS4, 2014) Composed by Petri Alanko

9 – “Worlds Collide” from Final Fantasy 13-2 (PS3, Xbox 360, 2011)  Composed by Naoshi Mizuta, lyrics and vocals
by David Whitaker

10 – “Wicked Chip,” a remix of “Vampire Killer” and “Wicked Child” from the Castlevania series Composed by Jorito and Erik Vreven

Please follow and like us:

Prime VGMinister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
Verified by MonsterInsights