Episode 77: Falcom with Chris Murray

Chris Murray joins Ed for a look at the Falcom sound, featuring classic and modern soundtracks.

Few game development houses can match the consistent quality that Nihon Falcom has put out over the course of 40 years. There are a wealth of wonderful games to play that appeal to the casual RPG player and hardcore enthusiast alike. With each new title, Falcom’s composers worked tirelessly to deliver incredible soundtracks as well, rounding out their fantastic gameplay and visuals with breathtaking musical scores and pulse-pounding rock songs.

Following up his guest appearance on A VGM Journey, in which he shared his favorite pieces from the Trails of Cold Steel soundtracks, Chris Murray joins Ed for a more general look at the Falcom sound. There’s a fun dichotomy on display here, with Ed choosing moody FM jams from Falcom’s past, and Chris pulling out some incredible tunes from the current era.  All of this is in an attempt to prove that no matter the year, the console, or the composer… Falcom music rocks!

A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!

Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!

Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Mike Stark, Ryan Steel, Bedroth, Chris Murray, Cameron Chiles,  Michael Bridgewater, Chris Myers, Donovan Orofino, Voltz Supreme, Ben “The Diad” DishmanChris Steenerson, Dan Laughton, Jordan Werme, Cameron Werme, Kung Fu Carlito,  Scott McElhone, FranklyZappa, and Alex “The Messenger” Messenger.

Join our Facebook group for discussion and bonus content: facebook.com/groups/thevgmbassy

Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy

Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy

Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app!

The Tracklist:

1- “Burning Sword” from Ys: Memories of Celceta (PSVita, PS4, 2012) Composed by Atsushi Shirakawa, Arrangement by Takahiro Unisuga

2- “Grievously Shrine” from Sorcerian: Tsuika Scenario Vol.3 -Pyramid Sorcerian- (Sharp X1 Turbo, 1988) Composed by Mieko Ishikawa

3- “Determination of Fight” from The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky the 3rd Evolution (PC, PSP, PS3, Vita, 2007) Composed by Ryo Takeshita, Arrangement by Mitsuo Singa and Shunsuke Minami

4- “Prison” from Brandish 2: The Planet Buster Renewal (PC-98, 1995) Composed by Atsushi Shirakawa, Hirofumi Matsuoka, Masaru Nakajima, Mieko Ishikawa, Naoki Kaneda, and Takahiro Tsunashima

5- “All-Out Attack!” from Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana (Vita, PS4. Switch, PC, Stadia, 2016) Composed by Mitsuo Singa, Guitar: Kosuke Furukawa

6- “Underground Waterway” from The Legend of Heroes IV: A Tear of Vermillion (PC-98, 1996) Composed by Atsushi Shirakawa, Hirofumi Matsuoka, Masaru Nakajima, Mieko Ishikawa, Naoki Kaneda, and Satoshi Arai

7- “Inevitable Struggle” from Zero no Kiseki (Trails from Zero) (PSP, Vita, PC, PS4, Switch, 2010) Composed by Masanori Osaki

8- “The Uninvited Visitors – Dubious Island” from Sorcerian Forever (PC, 1997) Composed by Atsushi Shirakawa, Hirofumi Matsuoka, Mieko Ishikawa, Satoshi Arai, and Yuzo Koshiro

9- “Norse Wind” from Ys IX: Monstrum Nox (PS4, Switch, PC, 2019) Composed by Mitsuo Singa

10- “A Folk Dance of Shadows and Shimmers (Forest)” from Vantage Master (PC, 1997) Composed by Atsushi Shirakawa, Masaru Nakajima, Satoshi Arai, Hayato Sonoda, and Kaname Ohara

Please follow and like us:

Prime VGMinister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
Verified by MonsterInsights