Episode 93: Quake Music History

Learn about the music from the Quake series, featuring industrial and metal tracks from a wealth of talented composers.

id Software is well known for their iconic titles like Doom and Wolfenstein, but few have left as indelible a mark as the legendary Quake series. Today, we’re not just here to delve into the heart-pounding action and mesmerizing gameplay that captivated millions. No, we’re taking a unique auditory journey through the unforgettable musical landscapes that accompanied these games. Join us as we explore haunting industrial atmospheres crafted by the masterful hands of artists like Trent Reznor, the visionary behind Quake’s groundbreaking soundtrack, and the relentless intensity of Sonic Mayhem. From ethereal melodies to adrenaline-fueled compositions, we’ll immerse ourselves in the music that shaped an era of gaming. So strap in, plug in those headphones, and prepare to be transported as we uncover the pulsating beats and iconic tunes that defined the musical history of the Quake series.

A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!

Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!

Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Ryan Steel, Cameron Werme, Kung-Fu Carlito, Scott McElhone, Chris Murray, Chris Myers, Mike Stark, KeyGlyph, Kyle Krull, The Diad, Daryl Bowers, Tom Hunt, Cameron Chiles, and Dan Laughton.

Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy

Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy

Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Amazon Podcasts, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app:

The Tracklist:

Intro – “Blasted!” from Quake III: Arena (DC, 2000) Composed by “Razor” (Aubrey Hodges)

1 – “Quake Theme” from Quake (PC, 1996) Composed by Trent Reznor

2 – “Aftermath” from Quake (PC, 1996) Composed by Trent Reznor

3 – “Track 3” from Quake Mission Pack 1: Scourge of Armagon (PC, 1997) Composed by Jehun Hwang and Rob Patterson

4 – “Track 5” from Quake Mission Pack 2: Dissolution of Eternity (PC, 1997) Composed by Jehun Hwang and Rob Patterson

5 – “Purge” from X-MEN: Ravages of Apocalypse (PC, 1997) Composed by Garry Schafer, aka Method of the W.O.R.M

5a – “Methods of Destruction” from Quake: Methods of Destruction Composed by Sascha Dikiciyan (Sonic Mayhem)

6 – “Title Theme” from Quake64 (N64, 1998) Composed by Aubrey Hodges

7 – “Descent into Cerberon” from Quake II (PC, 1997) Composed by Sascha Dikiciyan (Sonic Mayhem)

8 – “Title Theme” from Quake II (N64, 1999) Composed by Aubrey Hodges, aka Ken “Razor” Richmond

9 – “Noise Purge” from Quake III: Arena (PC, 1999) Composed by Sascha Dikiciyan (Sonic Mayhem)

10 – “Track 04” from Quake III: Team Arena (PC, 1999) Composed by Front Line Assembly

11 – “Convoy” from Quake IV (PC, 2005) Composed by Zachary Quarles and Kevin Shilder

12 – “Load2” from Enemy Territory: Quake Wars (PC, 2007) Composed by Bill Brown

13 – “Volkerh’s Theme” from Quake Champions (PC, 2017) Composed by Andrew Hulshult

14 – “Goroth’s Theme from Quake Champions (PC, 2017 Composed by Chris Vrenna

Please follow and like us:

Prime VGMinister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
Verified by MonsterInsights