Episode 99: Chiplash! When Demoscene and Video Games Collide – with Todd

Ed and Embassy Exclusive cohost Todd have selected a few amazing chiptune tracks from the demoscene and relate their sounds to video game genres.

We all love chiptune VGM, right? So many composers have written magical tunes for 8 and 16 bit console hardware. What some folks may not know is that there are also thousands of pieces of music written for these systems that weren’t meant for video games at all. On today’s show, Ed and Embassy Exclusive cohost Todd have selected a few amazing chiptune tracks from the demoscene. To make things interesting, their main focus of conversation is to imagine what kinds of hypothetical video games these amazing songs might feel at home in! So buckle up! When the worlds of the demoscene and video games collide, you may find yourself with a nasty case of Chiplash!

Check out the tracklist for links to the indie artists that are featured on today’s show.

A huge thank you to Indira J (The Misadventures of Buddy and Friend, Sacrimony) for the amazing VGMbassy artwork and design, and to Trevin Hughes (aka chiptune composer Jredd) for the podcast theme song!

Check out the VGMbassy Patreon for some fantastic bonuses, including exclusive podcast content!

Thanks to our supporting Patreon patrons, who help make this show possible: Ryan Steel, Cameron Werme, Kung-Fu Carlito, Scott McElhone, Chris Murray, Chris Myers, Mike Stark, KeyGlyph, Kyle Krull, The Diad, Daryl Bowers, Tom Hunt, Cameron Chiles, Muddle MADness, and Dan Laughton.

Follow The VGMbassy on Twitter: @TheVGMbassy

Check out the Instagram account for artsy-fartsy game-related images: @TheVGMbassy

Listen here or find us on iTunes, Google Play Music, Amazon Podcasts, Stitcher, or your favorite podcast app:

The Tracklist:

1 – “Movement 1” by Tristan Perich from the album 1-bit symphony (2010)

Tristan Perich’s Bandcamp

2 – “Crimson Beech” by Lutin from the album nanoloop 2.3 comp – a selection of nanoloop 2.3 tracks (2010)

Album Download

3 – “April 10th” by Zen Albatross (2009)

Bandcamp Link

4 – “Cherry Cola” by Kommisar from the album Mercury (2015)

Kommisar’s Bandcamp

5 – “The Cluster & the Cloud” by Dubmood from the album Lost Floppies Vol. 2 (2013)

Dubmood’s Bandcamp

6 – “Vampire Explosion” by H-Pizzle from the album The Tale of the Fable of the Legend of HPizzle (2010)

H-Pizzle’s Bandcamp

7 – “Pizza Pizza” by Algar from the album Chiptunes in Stereo (2012)

Algar’s Bandcamp

8 – “Into the Lion’s Den” by Willrock from the album Illusion of the 3rd World (2019)

Willrock’s Bandcamp

9 – “Leeds” by Boy vs Bacteria from the album Waste No Sound (2013)

Boy vs Bacteria’s Bandcamp

10 – “Some Dealings with the Office of Magic” by Musho from the album Swamps of Eden (2014)

Musho’s Bandcamp

Please follow and like us:

Prime VGMinister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
Verified by MonsterInsights